Magic!

When I first heard that this week was a free topic week, my mind started working overdrive. Then it stopped dead when I realized that this blogpost was a school thing. I decided to settle for magic, because who can be offended by magic?
I went around school doing a magic trick, and noted the different reactions. I have come to the conclusion that there are three different reactions to magic:

The Praisers: What a magician is always looking for is a praiser. These are the people who’s jaw drop to the floor every time you do something. They’re the ones who will go around and say: “you have to see this guy!” to their friends. They rock. These are the people who like mystery books, and are happy to have a feeling of befuddlement. They like the trick for the endless questions it poses.

The Deniers: Some people can’t except mystery. This is the class that will tell themselves anything from hidden robots to invisible wires to prove that you can’t fool them. This class is both annoying and amusing: They’re constantly trying to discredit you, and yet they think it within your capability to do almost anything, from a mini car in a disappearing golf ball, to a NASA mind reading chip in the back of your head.

The Poker-Faces: These are the people who will watch you pull an elephant out of their nose, and then shrug and say “so?” They are infuriating. You couldn’t make them gape if you turned yourself into Godzilla. These people appreciate the magic, but aren’t nice enough to let you know. You have to be careful with them, because they’re the ones who will do anything to figure you out. The paradox is that they are the ones who will most often ask you to repeat a magic trick, even if they make it sound more like a demand than a plea.

So if you like magic, or if you like trying to bust magicians, look at a video. Afterwards have friend tell you if your jaw dropped, you made up a load of Huey, or if you said what ever. It’s like a personality test, only it works.

2 thoughts on “Magic!

  1. Hi William!

    I’m probably a Praiser! I just don’t get how they do those magic tricks! It’s absolutely amazing!
    Maybe you could do a video on one of your magic tricks? I’d really like to see it!

    Stay cool!
    Julianne

  2. Wow dude, I actually think you’re right about those groups! Usually when I do magic tricks, I usually get praisers, but they aren’t big praisers that say OMG!!! every time they see me do a magic trick. Whenever I see someone do a magic trick, I usually turn into a pôker-face, I don’t know why though. What kind of magic tricks do you do?(The reason I put pôker with an accent is because it wouldn’t let me submit this comment with that word)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *